The College of Canons is a body of both lay and ordained people, appointed by the Bishop to play a part in the governance of the Cathedral and to act as ‘ambassadors’ in forging links with the wider diocese and its churches.  Each Canon brings particular skills, expertise and wisdom to the role; their appointment is both a recognition of their Christian leadership and service to date, and also an opportunity to play a part in the mission and ministry of the Cathedral in a special way.

The College of Canons comprises of nineteen lay canons, the two senior Cathedral Wardens, sixteen ordained canons and other Cathedral clergy.

The College of Canons


Sue Field
Acting President
The Revd Canon Sue Field

The Rt Revd Martyn Snow, Bishop of Leicester
The Rt Revd Christopher Boyle, Assistant Bishop of Leicester

The Venerable Tim Stratford, Archdeacon of Leicester
The Venerable David Newman, Archdeacon of Loughborough

The Revd Canon Alison Adams
Canon Professor Robert Allison
Canon Vic Allsop
Canon Chrispal Anand
Canon Shayne Ardron
The Revd Canon Dr Johannes Arens
Canon Janet Arthur
Canon Stephen Barney
Canon Sally Bowie
Canon Malcolm Britton
The Revd Canon Dr Stuart Burns
The Revd Canon Jane Curtis
The Revd Canon Vivien Elphick
The Revd Canon Rosy Fairhurst
Canon Paul Farrell
The Revd Canon Dr Stephen A Foster
The Revd Canon Rob Gladstone
The Revd Canon Paul Hackwood
The Revd Canon Peter Hooper
The Revd Canon David Jennings (Canon Theologian)

Canon Carolyn Lewis
Canon Sarah Longhill
The Revd Canon Judith Maltby
Canon Lynette Maple
The Very Revd David Monteith
Canon Mads Morgan
Canon Ian A Neale
The Venerable David Newman
The Revd Canon Helen Newman
The Revd Canon Philip O’Reilly
The Revd Canon Chris Oxley
The Revd Canon Karen Rooms
Canon the Baroness Byford of Rothley
The Revd Canon Michael Rusk
Canon Penny Russell
The Venerable Tim Stratford
Canon Maurice Thompson
Canon Judith Wells
Canon Professor David Wilson
The Revd Canon Dr Andrew Wingate OBE (Canon Theologian)